My first half marathon. Check.

I did it! I ran my first half marathon. I signed up for the Hobbler Half last summer and hurt my knee right before on a training run down AF canyon. I was so bummed and didn’t know if I would be able to run one down any canyon with my weak knees, and this summer kind of gave up hope. My amazing sister-in-law Amber inspired me once again to do one. I was so excited when she said she’d run the Nebo Half with me September 8th. I looked at the course online and it didn’t look too steep, so I thought I’d be ok. I later realized its one of the steepest and longest of the canyon half’s in Utah. Amber kept reassuring me I would be fine though, and I was!

First I will credit my 4 Ibuprofen pills I took beforehand, because without them, I don’t think I would have made it! Second, probably my knee bands, and then KT Tape and essential oils, which I think helped, but how can you ever know?

I finished with a time of 1:42, with a 7:47M pace. I was hoping to get a time around 1:45, and I got under, so I’m very happy. I felt so good running the race, and booked it the last four miles. It was so beautiful down the canyon. Amber did awesome herself getting around 2:07? She amazed me doing it that fast with her run/walk regimen.

My wonderful husband and his mom and step-dad came and met us at the finish line to cheer us on. Oh, and naughty Cody, (his brother’s dog we were babysitting) who got into some trouble the night before… It was an awesome race and I can’t wait to do another! The worst part is probably the soreness you feel after the race… Still sore, but I was able to workout this morning for the first time since. I’m happy to say my knees are fine and I will hopefully go on a run tomorrow!

Nebo Half posted a video and I’m in it receiving my medal:

One thought on “My first half marathon. Check.

Leave a Reply

