My chair project

I bought these gorgeous mid-century chairs off KSL a few months ago and have been wanting to reupholster them since. It took me a while to decide what fabric to cover them in. I had three I was choosing from, but with the help of my sister-in-law Amber, I chose the one that offered the most contrast . Plus, this fabric was extra awesome and was reversible! So I did two chairs one color and two chairs the other. I couldn’t be happier with them.

Choices choices…

2 3 4 67

Materials:

  • Heavy duty staple gun (if your fabric is thick like mine. I got this at Joannes Fabric)
  • Extra heavy duty staples
  • Fabric (I got mine from Home Fabrics in Orem)
  • Possibly foam (I didn’t need it, mine was still in good shape)
  • Scissors
  • Screwdriver to remove chair pads from chairs
  • Pliers to remove old staples

Directions:

  • Unscrew chair pads from chairs
  • Remove old fabric and staples from chairs
  • Cut fabric to fit chairs
  • Staple fabric to chairs
  • Screw chair pads back onto chairs

Easy as that! It took me about four hours to complete this project. It was so easy and fun! 

Cost breakdown:

  • Chairs: $100 for all four from KSL
  • Fabric: $12 for 1 1/2 yards
  • Staple gun and extra staples: $17
  • Good sewing scissors: $14
  • Total cost: $143.00
3 thoughts on “My chair project

  1. jamiehunter Post author

    Awesome! Do you have a staple gun? You can use mine if you need! Let me know when you’re doing it, maybe I come down. I am already wanting to do another project…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

